14 December – Ghost of Christmas future

Photo by Maria Gair, http://mariagphotography.com/

Photo by Maria Gair, http://mariagphotography.com/

Are there actions undone, words unsaid, gestures not yet made that you would regret not having done?  What are they?

List them.  You might start each sentence with ‘I will regret it if I don’t …’

Perhaps it’s a story you want to tell.  Or a walk you need to take.  Maybe there is a painting or a person to whom you must pay a visit.  An overdue cup of tea and sympathy?  An envelope that needs a stamp and a licking?

Can you choose one and take a small action that will soothe away a possible future regret?

How does this writing prompt advent calendar work?
This entry was posted in Writing, Writing Prompt Advent Calendar 2013. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to 14 December – Ghost of Christmas future

  1. Marie says:

    Good question to ask one’s self. What will l do today that I will not regret tomorrow or what will I do today that I will be thankful for in a day in the future.

    Today I am visiting my parents. As a continuance from yesterday, to hear their voices is wonderful. Helpng out today with a joy in my heart. Spending time with them. No regrets today or tomorrow about that. :-)

    • Melissa says:

      Lovely, Marie. I hope your visit continues to be joyful. I never regret time well-spent. It always seems worth the effort. I like how you’ve shifted the tone of the question – ‘what will I do today that I will be thankful for in the future?’

  2. Melissa says:

    I did something small, but I will be glad for it tomorrow. I practiced a few tricky sections of music for our concert tomorrow. Nevermind these are sections that could have been learned and practiced months ago….I’ve practiced them now. I also arranged to meet a friend later in the week. :)

  3. Jill says:

    I will regret it if I don’t spend at least one or two Christmases with brother’s family when my little nephew (and any younger siblings he might have) are in their prime Christmas-celebrating years. That should be in about 5-6 years. I don’t think this is something I can take action on today, but now that you mention it, I do feel it as a sort of ghost of Christmas future. I hadn’t thought of it that way before. But thoughts of it arise unexpectedly and bring a strange hybrid anticipatory-nostalgic feel.

    A few days ago I did buy fabric to make said nephew a Christmas stocking in a style similar to the ones my mom made for me and my brother when we were little. So this is a current project I’m that I will be glad to have done. (I too like the two sides of this question – thanks, Marie! – although for this project it’ll be more than a day before it’s done.)

  4. Maria G. says:

    What a day for thinking of Christmas futures…

    I missed yesterday’s writing assignment. There was another shooting here at a high school. Except this time, the high school is just down the road from me. This time the school is right next to my church and is attended by many teenagers that I know.

    It keeps getting worse. It turns out that I’m just a degree of separation from the mother of the shooter. She babysat many of my friends’ kids in their church nursery. Who knows how many degrees are between the injured girl and me?

    After hearing of the incident, I got in my car and the country-ish tune “Colorado Christmas” was playing on the radio. There is a line about “the peaceful quiet of a Colorado Christmas.” Such disconnect. I wanted to hug my kids when I got them from school, and then my youngest pushed every button I have last night (yes THAT kid pictured in the photo at the top of this page☺.) I was extremely angry. More Disconnect.

    So, here we are. The ghost of Christmas future seems to be here with me. Today. So what to do? I think I’ve always had an understanding of “there are things you can’t get back.” I try to keep in touch with people. I try to visit friends and loved ones often. I try to teach my kids to live for today and have respect for yesterday and tomorrow.

    I guess I am at peace in the fact that my ghosts of Christmas future are unknown. I try to live without fear but with an understanding that the future is not guaranteed. We are taking my mother to Florida for Christmas this year. We’ve been meaning to go for years. My friend’s mother has lived there over a decade and we are finally making it for a visit. You only get so many chances in this world. I’m excited to spend time with my family, my mom, my friend and her husband (who now live in Germany), and her mother. I just hope that I don’t get eaten by an alligator. ☺

What did you discover? Please share thoughts, links, comments below.

